Sudbury House Hotel

4* country hotel with award winning dining in Oxfordshire

Member since 2016

Tier four

1 to 7 night stays
From £78 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £105 pppn
£78 per night for a 7 night stay
to £105 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Sudbury House Hotel Reviews

London Street, Faringdon, SN7 7AA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury House Hotel

60 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Suite 57 - Great relaxing stay

Anon, stayed: December 2021

We booked the suite and were not disappointed, it is huge! The bathroom is great with the freestanding bath. The bed was very comfy and the sitting room was lovely. We had two courses are dinner which were both really nice and had breakfast brought to the room which was amazing. The customer service when we arrived and at dinner was great.
We booked a package which was good value for everything included. It was so nice to have prosecco and chocolates on arrival. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a relaxing night away and hopefully we'll be back again sometime in 2022.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Winter weekend

RB, Leicestershire, stayed: December 2021

Very noisy until midnight with music from wedding party which took over the whole hotel including the restaurant and bar, which was unfortunate for guests like ourselves who were not part of the wedding celebrations.
We had booked a bedroom with a wet room, so that I could access the shower with ease, I am on crutches and can t step up into the shower. No room with a wet room was available so I was unable to shower and wash my hair for the whole weekend.

It is a hotel lacking in character, the food was better than we expected but the menu was the same each evening. We won t be returning anytime soon.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Not what we were expecting

Anon, stayed: October 2021

As we arrived we were told they were short staffed and therefore we couldn't have breakfast in bed, which was suppose to be part of our package. We were also told a late check out would be difficult. The service in the restaurant was slow - although the food when it arrived was delicious. Breakfast was again lovely, but had to find staff for more coffee and tea.
The room was adequate but the bath plug didn't let water down quick enough meaning I was stood in water when having a shower! The plug in the sink had to be removed and there was mould on the tiles. The head board was covered in dust!
Given the fact we were staying in a 4 star hotel we were expecting something a little more - this was a celebration weekend away and we had treated ourselves to some luxury, which we didn't feel we fully got.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Excellent hotel

JM, Hampshire, stayed: October 2021

Friendly staff spotlessly clean hotel and room, the meals were cooked to perfection a specially the cooked breakfast, well done chef.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Nice hotel

JB, West Midlands, stayed: August 2021

Very nice stay and it was a clean and fresh hotel mainly for mature people.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Disappointing

Rachel, Essex, stayed: August 2021

After waiting 20mins for someone to appear at reception we eventually got to the room. It was ok a bit above a premier inn we would say. Not quite what we were expecting.
We ate at the restaurant the food was disappointing my chicken was dry and was in a gravy not sauce and husbands steak was well done- medium , when he asked for rare.
The bar guy was rude- he didn t want to be there !
So told the girl when we checked out about our problems she said ok no problem and she would get the manager to contact us - we re still waiting!!
Would not ever recommend this place we spoke to other guests staying there and they had all had issues!!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury hotel

Anon, stayed: August 2021

Comfortable clean hotel, very friendly helpful staff even though obviously short due to Covid-19.
Afternoon tea was really lovely.
Lots of easy parking. Very pretty location and gardens, handy for lots of site seeing.
Close to the pretty market place of Farringdon in very easy walking distance.
Would definitely recommend a stay here as very good value.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Couples Romantic Getaway Break

Jade, Bedfordshire, stayed: August 2021

I booked the romantic getaway break at Sudbury House Hotel for my partner as a delayed anniversary and job promotion celebration weekend. The package i booked was reasonably priced including dinner vouchers, prosecco and chocolates on arrival, 1pm late check out and a single overnight stay in a double room for 2. The hotel itself is beautiful and set in an idyllic location. The staff were very communicative and helpful with any queries i had. The double room we had been given was modern and clean, and included a bath which was a nice surprise. There ended up being a wedding function occuring during our stay so we dined in the residents lounge rather, we had a delicious 3 course meal, the seabass in particular was very tasty. We chose to have breakfast served to our room and booked for 9:45am to have a lay in, the waiter serving us during our stay was very polite, helpful and ontime with service. I also booked a sunday lunch in the magnolia restaurant as an extra after our 1pm checkout and once again the service was second to non, nothing was too much for the service staff. Unfortunately we didnt manage to get the name of the young male waiter attending to us both days, however i would like to say thank you for being so helpful and attentive towards us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again soon

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again