Sudbury House Hotel

4* country hotel with award winning dining in Oxfordshire

Member since 2016

Tier four

From ₹7
151
pppn
for a 7 night stay
to ₹14
996
pppn
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Sudbury House Hotel Reviews

London Street, Faringdon, SN7 7AA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury House Hotel

68 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Lovely hotel let down by restaurant service

Anna R, Northamptonshire, stayed: July 2021

This hotel was so clean, the rooms were lovely and comfy and bedding so fresh.

Location good to walk into the village which has a choice of pubs/restaurants

The restaurant in the hotel served good food but was let down by the service. We had to wait 40 mins before our main was brought out but we hadn t had our starters delivered! The mains were returned and starters brought.

Then we were brought side plates and cutlery cleared for a cheese board - which we hadn t ordered and still hadn t had mains!

Mains arrived then a further long wait for anyone to attend to table to take dessert order.

Breakfast much the same when our table was cleared of cups/saucers bowls and knives etc whilst we were still finishing our toast!

Sort the restaurant out and could be perfect

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Off Peak Luxury advertise this Hotel with award winning dinning - that restaurant next closed 2018

JR, Essex, stayed: July 2021

The hotel met our requirements for a short break in the Cotswolds. We had a basic room, but it was clean and serviced every day. There was no safe in the room and storage was limited and the bathroom small with shower over the bath.

The biggest let down was the food included in the Off Peak Luxury deal. The service was so slow, with many making complaints on day. There was a big delay between starter and main and when my fish was served it was over cooked. Breakfast was surprisingly good and served quickly and staff helpful. I got the impression that some staff were new and did not quite know how to deal with customers, particularly a complaint.

Check you Bill on leaving as mine had several items that I did not recognise including a charge for the meal which was included in the deal! It was rectified without problem.

There is not a lot to say about Farringdon. Its not the most interesting town in the Cotswolds, but does have the Folly in walking distance of the hotel.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: July 2021

Appreciating that COVID restrictions were still in place my stay could have been better I booked for a three night stay for myself and my Labrador Sadly only stayed two nights we were given a room two doors into an extended corridor which with the hotel being fairly full had a lot of people traffic day and night and although we were out quite a lot the noise caused the dog to be unsettled which led to intermittent barking which I was worried was disturbing other guests and meant me not being able to relax myself I mentioned when we checked out that it would have more sense as I had a dog with me to be put in a room the other end of the corridor where there would have been less if any traffic Also and really a bigger disappointment was my dietary needs I have Serious Gluten and Lactose allergies and despite being informed ahead of my stay there was no vegan spread to put on my gluten free toast at breakfast and despite being offered a cream tea as part of the package there were no scones For a hotel of this quality and the price paid I was very disappointed

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Good,but .

BD, Lincolnshire, stayed: July 2021

Nice area to visit .
Hotel-Two nights out of three were disturbed by people (staff) talking outside.
Breakfast trays were missing different items each morning I.e. cutlery, cups,milk butter,scrambled eggs.
Staff were scarce so struggled to find someone to ask for drinks in the afternoon.
Afternoon tea was all gluten free despite only one person needing gluten free. Disappointing selection, mostly supermarket bought cakes.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: December 2020

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Not what we were expecting

Anon, stayed: October 2021

As we arrived we were told they were short staffed and therefore we couldn't have breakfast in bed, which was suppose to be part of our package. We were also told a late check out would be difficult. The service in the restaurant was slow - although the food when it arrived was delicious. Breakfast was again lovely, but had to find staff for more coffee and tea.
The room was adequate but the bath plug didn't let water down quick enough meaning I was stood in water when having a shower! The plug in the sink had to be removed and there was mould on the tiles. The head board was covered in dust!
Given the fact we were staying in a 4 star hotel we were expecting something a little more - this was a celebration weekend away and we had treated ourselves to some luxury, which we didn't feel we fully got.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Winter weekend

RB, Leicestershire, stayed: December 2021

Very noisy until midnight with music from wedding party which took over the whole hotel including the restaurant and bar, which was unfortunate for guests like ourselves who were not part of the wedding celebrations.
We had booked a bedroom with a wet room, so that I could access the shower with ease, I am on crutches and can t step up into the shower. No room with a wet room was available so I was unable to shower and wash my hair for the whole weekend.

It is a hotel lacking in character, the food was better than we expected but the menu was the same each evening. We won t be returning anytime soon.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The rooms in the hotel were excellant and very clean. So full marks to housekeeping

MT, Northamptonshire, stayed: May 2022

When we arrived at the hotel there was no one on reception and this was apparent for much of the three days of our stay.It seems that although the staff were very helpful they suffered from a lack of sufficient staff for a four star hotel.
We found the food served at breakfast on all three days to be luke warm even though on two of the days it was served to order. the final day was buffet style and although on a hot plate was still not as warm as we would like it.Regarding Dinner. This was very disappointing and noticable by a lack of choice for somebody staying more than a couple of days.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: