Sudbury House Hotel

4* country hotel with award winning dining in Oxfordshire

Member since 2016

Tier four

From ₹7
151
pppn
for a 7 night stay
to ₹14
996
pppn
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Sudbury House Hotel Reviews

London Street, Faringdon, SN7 7AA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury House Hotel

68 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Anon, stayed: August 2021

We were vert disappointed with the standard of this hotel.
It was not designed for a 4 night stay as there was no wardrobe in the bedroom only a short stick on which you had to put coat hangers.
The phone never worked in the bedroom and the lift was broken for the last 2 days.
Finally the dinner menu was the same every night so we went out to avoid the rather poor choice.
we most certainly will not visit this hotel again.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Disappointing

Rachel, Essex, stayed: August 2021

After waiting 20mins for someone to appear at reception we eventually got to the room. It was ok a bit above a premier inn we would say. Not quite what we were expecting.
We ate at the restaurant the food was disappointing my chicken was dry and was in a gravy not sauce and husbands steak was well done- medium , when he asked for rare.
The bar guy was rude- he didn t want to be there !
So told the girl when we checked out about our problems she said ok no problem and she would get the manager to contact us - we re still waiting!!
Would not ever recommend this place we spoke to other guests staying there and they had all had issues!!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Save money, go to Premier Inn

Nick H, Devon, stayed: July 2021

Paid 199 for room, meal and breakfast. Room was mediocre at best, hotel had no facilities other than restaurant and bar. Needed a fan as the room was too warm, they had none! Ordered 9 Luxury king prawns with avocado for a starter, got shrimps as a Beefeater prawn cocktail, when raised with the head waiter he literally lied and said on the packet they where cold water king prawns, OMG we laughed! they were shrimps no bigger than a finger nail. Why lie, why not admit you don't have the king prawns and had to make a substitute. We ordered room service breakfast on a form to choose our ingredients, that was ignored and we got what we were given, a basic breakfast, arrived cold, no butter or salt and pepper. So for the money, no I would NEVER stay here again.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Anon, stayed: December 2020

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lovely hotel let down by restaurant service

Anna R, Northamptonshire, stayed: July 2021

This hotel was so clean, the rooms were lovely and comfy and bedding so fresh.

Location good to walk into the village which has a choice of pubs/restaurants

The restaurant in the hotel served good food but was let down by the service. We had to wait 40 mins before our main was brought out but we hadn t had our starters delivered! The mains were returned and starters brought.

Then we were brought side plates and cutlery cleared for a cheese board - which we hadn t ordered and still hadn t had mains!

Mains arrived then a further long wait for anyone to attend to table to take dessert order.

Breakfast much the same when our table was cleared of cups/saucers bowls and knives etc whilst we were still finishing our toast!

Sort the restaurant out and could be perfect

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Off Peak Luxury advertise this Hotel with award winning dinning - that restaurant next closed 2018

JR, Essex, stayed: July 2021

The hotel met our requirements for a short break in the Cotswolds. We had a basic room, but it was clean and serviced every day. There was no safe in the room and storage was limited and the bathroom small with shower over the bath.

The biggest let down was the food included in the Off Peak Luxury deal. The service was so slow, with many making complaints on day. There was a big delay between starter and main and when my fish was served it was over cooked. Breakfast was surprisingly good and served quickly and staff helpful. I got the impression that some staff were new and did not quite know how to deal with customers, particularly a complaint.

Check you Bill on leaving as mine had several items that I did not recognise including a charge for the meal which was included in the deal! It was rectified without problem.

There is not a lot to say about Farringdon. Its not the most interesting town in the Cotswolds, but does have the Folly in walking distance of the hotel.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Good,but .

BD, Lincolnshire, stayed: July 2021

Nice area to visit .
Hotel-Two nights out of three were disturbed by people (staff) talking outside.
Breakfast trays were missing different items each morning I.e. cutlery, cups,milk butter,scrambled eggs.
Staff were scarce so struggled to find someone to ask for drinks in the afternoon.
Afternoon tea was all gluten free despite only one person needing gluten free. Disappointing selection, mostly supermarket bought cakes.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Not what we were expecting

Anon, stayed: October 2021

As we arrived we were told they were short staffed and therefore we couldn't have breakfast in bed, which was suppose to be part of our package. We were also told a late check out would be difficult. The service in the restaurant was slow - although the food when it arrived was delicious. Breakfast was again lovely, but had to find staff for more coffee and tea.
The room was adequate but the bath plug didn't let water down quick enough meaning I was stood in water when having a shower! The plug in the sink had to be removed and there was mould on the tiles. The head board was covered in dust!
Given the fact we were staying in a 4 star hotel we were expecting something a little more - this was a celebration weekend away and we had treated ourselves to some luxury, which we didn't feel we fully got.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: