Sudbury House Hotel

4* country hotel with award winning dining in Oxfordshire

Member since 2016

Tier four

From ₹7
151
pppn
for a 7 night stay
to ₹14
996
pppn
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Sudbury House Hotel Reviews

London Street, Faringdon, SN7 7AA

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury House Hotel

68 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Suite 57 - Great relaxing stay

Anon, stayed: December 2021

We booked the suite and were not disappointed, it is huge! The bathroom is great with the freestanding bath. The bed was very comfy and the sitting room was lovely. We had two courses are dinner which were both really nice and had breakfast brought to the room which was amazing. The customer service when we arrived and at dinner was great.
We booked a package which was good value for everything included. It was so nice to have prosecco and chocolates on arrival. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a relaxing night away and hopefully we'll be back again sometime in 2022.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Weekend break

Andrew, Leicestershire, stayed: April 2022

Three night stay. Good selection at breakfast. Two excellent evening meals and a really relaxed afternoon tea which had a good selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones. Room comfortable and very quiet. Location good for exploring south Cotswolds.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Ideal getaway

LP, Cheshire, stayed: May 2022

A great choice for a reunion getaway with friends. Lovely, welcoming staff, generously sized rooms with very comfortable beds (no squeezing into tiny room as punishment for single occupancy!) in a great location. A spacious feeling hotel with green and pleasant outdoor spaces to relax in and chat. Great package deal with bottle of Prosecco & chocolates in the room plus dinner one evening. To cap it all they kindly posted my Apple charger to me, free of charge, after I left it behind. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Off Peal Luxury were invaluable in narrowing down a great deal for our dates and location and quickly answered all my queries. Will definitely book through them again.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Sudbury House

Margaret B, Kent, stayed: May 2022

Booked the 3 night Romantic Suite stay. Room was spacious, spotless and the bed was divine. Staff all welcoming and very efficient. Food in the restaurant was of Michelin standard, quite delicious and beautifully presented. Highly recommended.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Pleasant break in great location for Cotswold sights

Maureen, Leicestershire, stayed: May 2022

On arrival it was confirmed that my request for walk in shower had been satisfied.
The staffing levels in restaurant seemed low. A tasty steak meal on our first night was spoiled by excessive salt on fries (why do chefs feel this is necessary, salt on tables allow guests to add if desired?). When asked if everything was ok with meal I did mention the salty fries but got no response. The third nights meal we were told by waitress the Soup of the Day was cream of mushroom and chose this for our starter. Green soup arrived and I questioned the colour , to which the waitress said that she thought it unusual but had been assured by Chef that it was mushroom. Upon tasting it was stringy and certainly not mushroom. We left it and told the waitress the reason why when she came to clear. When she went back to the kitchen she was then told by a different Chef that it was Seasonal Vegetable. The said items were removed from the bill. The restaurant seemed to be running on a skeleton staff, perhaps not all staff behind the scenes adequately trained !
In trying times for staffing levels the staff we saw worked hard to make for a pleasant stay. The Afternoon Tea included in our deal was exceptional.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lovely hotel in good location with beautiful grounds. Staff very efficient & well organised.

Julia, Kent, stayed: September 2020

Enjoyed a five night break for my birthday! The hotel is lovely! Room was very well equipped & comfortable with toiletries in the bathroom and plentiful tea & coffee making facilities. The staff at reception were very friendly & special mention must go to the restaurant manager who made every effort to make us feel welcome & special as customers, taking the time & trouble to chat to us each day. A good location for exploring the Cotswolds. Would love to go back!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Sudbury house hotel

GB, Shropshire, stayed: May 2022

Overall enjoyed our stay the one thing that we thought could be improved is the dinner menu we found the choice very limited and not enough down to earth food

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lovely stay

Debbie, Oxfordshire, stayed: April 2022

We had a lovely 2 night stay in a family room. It was comfortable, but sadly lacked furniture to unpack into. The hotel garden and setting is lovely, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was super, with a good evening menu, and great breakfast buffet. Lots of parking. The folly/ sculpture park is about 5- 10 minutes walk, through a gate in the hotel garden, and has great views. Overall, a lovely hotel.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again