The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Popular Country Inn over-looking Rodborough Common, nr Stroud

Member since 2003

Tier four

From £60 pppn for a 1 night stay
to £112.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

The Bear of Rodborough Hotel Reviews

Stroud, Glos, GL5 5DE

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

212 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Stay February 2024

BH, Bucks, stayed: February 2024

Comfortable stay
Only complaint is that there were no grab handles over the bath so my wife was unable to use it as a shower Great pity as the room and bed was otherwise very comfortable


Offpeakluxury says...

We do offer a facility when booking to request any accessibility requirements, I cannot see that you mentioned any. We could have certainly fulfilled your request had you contacted us prior to booking. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Location:

Value for money:

AG, Worcs, stayed: October 2023


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Poor value

Mark J, south derbyshire, stayed: October 2023

The hotel was ok, restaurant was very good. But the room was shabby and up 3 flights of stairs. Booking through country hotel breaks (a gift ) vastly overinflated the price, making this to say the least poor value.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback.

It is disappointing to hear your stay did not meet your expectations.  We do regularly receive good reviews for The Bear of Rodborough Hotel, but will monitor future comments.

We are confident that our packages, stacked with lots of extras, will regularly offer the best value around. However, if you find you could have booked the same package on the same terms elsewhere for less, we'll not only refund the difference but also give you a £25 credit towards a future booking.  As you had not advised us of this, we were unable to verfiy if this was the case.  

Kind regards,

Country Hotel Breaks


The Bear of Rodborough Hotel says...

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room you stayed in although on the third floor has fantastic views out over the valley. I will pass your comments on to our General Manager

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Excellent Stay

Anon, stayed: October 2023


The Bear of Rodborough Hotel says...

Thank you for staying with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Overnight stay

Barbara, Staffordshire, stayed: October 2023

Second visit to The Bear of Rodborough and I wasn't disappointed.
The hotel had a wonderful cosy feel about it with the lit open fire and rustic soft furnishings.
The bedroom was clean and well appointed, with a super comfy bed and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was spotless with luxurious complimentary toiletries.
The restaurant has amazing views over the Common and again tastefully decorated. The food service was excellent and the food delicious.
All staff we're friendly and efficient.
I'm definitely planning a third visit to The Bear.



The Bear of Rodborough Hotel says...

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving such a glowing review.

We are delighted when guests return to see us, if we can help in any way please don't hesitate to contact us.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

3 night stay

Anon, stayed: September 2023

Friendly and helpful staff but unable to solve the problem of no wifi in the country house section. Good location for exploring the cotswolds



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Excellent Hotel, Lovely location and Room and Friendly Staff.

Nigel B, Essex, stayed: September 2023

We had a three night stay here at the start of September 2023. Overall we loved the hotel. The location was perfect for what we wanted. The staff were very friendly and efficient throughout. The room was excellent, very clean well appointed and serviced and had a lovely view over the common.
The restaurant was OK. The breakfast was very good.



Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Julia, stayed: August 2023


Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: