Bowden Hall

4* Cotswold country hotel set in stunning parkland

Member since 2018

Tier four

1 to 7 night stays
From £43 pppn for a 7 night stay
to £62 pppn
£43 per night for a 7 night stay
to £62 per night
for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Bowden Hall Reviews

Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, GL4 8ED

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Bowden Hall

143 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Enjoyable good value break

Anon, stayed: January 2022

We enjoyed our three nights away. Service was sometimes slow - the hotel was quite empty - but we were in no rush. The extra inclusions of champagne and afternoon tea were especially good. Staff were all polite and friendly.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Refreshing break in a brilliant location

Laura, Surrey, stayed: December 2021

A lovely hotel in a great location in the Cotswolds. We stayed for two nights and explored the nearby towns and villages during the days and ate at the hotel restaurant both evenings. The food in the restaurant was brilliant, great variety on the menu and all meals very good. Also a good breakfast selection on offer. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although a little too warm for our preference, even with window open and radiator off! However, slept very well both nights.
Staff extremely welcoming and friendly, really excellent value for money.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Overall a lovely stay

Anon, stayed: December 2021

A warm welcome at this hotel.We found all staff to be polite and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good at dinner and breakfast. Room comfortable and very clean but is getting slightly dated but excellent value for money.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Curate's Egg Hotel Stay - Good in Parts

Anon, stayed: November 2021

The half bottle of Brut wasn't waiting in the room on arrival as booked, so straight away I had to go back down to reception - from probably the most remote room in the hotel - to get it. The guy on reception was apologetic and got it straight away for me to take back up.

At dinner (in the brightest lit restaurant I have ever been in) the menu was misleading. We both ordered Beef Bourguignon which said 'seasonal vegetables were included', so we didn't order a side of it as we didn't think it necessary to do so. When it came out there was just the beef bourguignon and mash, no vegetables. When I pointed this out to the waitress she said 'the vegetables were in with it'... whatever that meant. All I know didn't get any vegetables when the menu said we would.

On a more positive note, the room was pleasant enough and the guy on the desk was very helpful.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Amazing

Christopher S, Devon, stayed: November 2021

One of the best hotels I have ever been too

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Good value for money

Susan, West Sussex, stayed: November 2021

The overall hotel package was excellent value for money. The hotel was in a lovely location and was great base to explore the Cotswolds. The room was OK, good choice of food in the restaurant and good quality.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Not a 4 star hotel

Anon, stayed: November 2021

Lovely location was let down by poorly trained hospitality staff - for which I hold the management responsible, not the staff themselves who tried their best but lacked the service skills I d expect of a 4 star hotel restaurant - or any hospitality venue at all, and was a real let down. The room also was corporate feeling and very noisy, with the sounds of doors opening/closing and bathrooms being used easily heard from other rooms.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Brilliant!

Michelle, Staffordshire, stayed: November 2021

First time we stayed here & I defiantly can't fault the place at all. Receptionist when we arrived was so jolly & helpful. Our room was cozy, warm & clean. The food in the restaurant was delicious & due to staying more than 2 days we had an afternoon tea. I would give this place 10/10 & would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again