Bowden Hall

4* Cotswold country hotel set in stunning parkland

Member since 2018

Tier four

From £56.50 pppn for a 5 night stay
to £84.50 pppn for a 1 night stay

View Special Offers Find Offers

Bowden Hall Reviews

Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, GL4 8ED

Customer service:

Rooms:

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Bowden Hall

173 reviews, sorted by Date Rating

Not quite delivering on expectations

Robert S, stayed: June 2022

First impressions were good but the restaurant was a let-down. What hotel doesn't have steak for two of the three nights with no salmon, no soup at other timees? All key menu items, missing even in the early evening. The noise level was really bad in the restaurant with no soft drapes and a high flat ceiling. The bedroom was OK but gloomy with almost no view and the bathroom only OK. We were on the top level with no lift, so access was rather poor although it is, of course, an old building. The late night fire alarm evacuation (false alarm) was straightforward and fast enough but there was no checking of attendance once outside - no doubt hindered by the wedding party that were still around from their own event. The two groups (residents / non-residents) should have been separated. Even when a false alarm, the staff should have taken the opportunity to treat it as a full 'shout'. The fire engine had trouble getting through the gate. I did sleep well though so it wasn't all bad, just not quite good enough overall.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

Lovely & dog friendly

Cristina, Devon, stayed: June 2022

The lady who checked us in was incredible! Her enthusiasm and friendly nature was infectious and made for a fantastic start to our mini holiday! She was so welcoming to both us and our dog and couldn t be more perfect. The hotel staff were all lovely and always helpful! The room was nice and they made it welcoming for the dog too with a blanket, treats and water bowl.

Would most definitely return

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Well done to Terry and Solveiga, Super Staff

SD, West Yorkshire, stayed: June 2022

We stayed for 2nights dinner bed and breakfast at Bowden Hall.
There was a small problem with crockery in the room when we arrived. We reported this to Solveiga on Reception, who passed it on to Terry, the Restaurant Manager ( standing in for the Duty Manager who was running a function in another part of the hotel). The problem was dealt with quickly and sensitively and compensation made. The actions of these staff more than made up for the poor initial impression that had been created. Well Done to Terry and Solveiga, you are a credit to your hotel!
The hotel was busy, with several events over the days we were there, however the staff provided personal service to a high standard, especially in the dining room.
Although the corridors and entrances are in need of cleaning and sprucing up, the dining rooms, bar, lounge and bedrooms are tasteful and recently refurbished, the lovely grounds are also an added bonus. We will visit again.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Enjoyable one night stay.

Anon, stayed: June 2022

Friendly reception staff on booking in and checking out. Enjoyed the bar area, nice and spacious. Queues at bar however so decided to cancel pre dinner drink. Enjoyed our meals very much.
Lovely room overlooking gardens, sadly didn t get time to enjoy a walk around them. Pods in garden looked fun!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Fantastic break

SC, Essex, stayed: May 2022

We wanted a little getaway to relax and recharge and this was a beautiful hotel to have as our base. It s a great central location to see the wonders of the Cotswolds, and we packed a lot in in our three night stay. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant and the food was excellent, no complaints! The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a standard room and appeared smaller than the rest but honestly it was a great size and perfect for our stay. I think the price we paid was very reasonable, especially when it included champagne, breakfast and the stay - very impressed and will certainly be back!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

A great place from which to explore the Cotswolds

Nicola, Kent, stayed: May 2022

Beautiful building in stunning grounds with a well-trained polite staff. I was particularly impressed with the diligence applied to customer allergies when ordering in the restaurant.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Cotswold delight

Charles, Shropshire, stayed: May 2022

A pleasant hotel close to Gloucester but with a deep country feel. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The food was good but the choice limited for our 4 night stay.

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money:

  • Would stay here again

Nice

Joanne B, Shropshire, stayed: April 2022

The hotel looks impressive. Lovely setting. Our room was on second floor, no lift, don't forget anything!
Room was clean, felt very clostofobic with small window, receptionist told me great view Shame about the small window. Breakfast was good. Dinner at night could do more attention don't have the katsu chicken!

Staff are friendly, suggest don't have weddings if not enough staff!

Overall Rating:

Customer service:

Room(s):

Restaurant:

Location:

Value for money: